Region 31 Governor’s Cup results announced

Special to the Daily News

Rosspoint Elementary School won top honors in the Kentucky Governor’s Cup Elementary Region 31 hosted by Pineville City Schools.

Bell Central was second, followed by Harlan in third, Evarts in fourth, Wallins in fifth, Page and Cawood Elementary Schools tied for sixth, Right Fork in eighth and Frakes in ninth. Other schools participating were Black Mountain, Cumberland, Green Hills, James A. Cawood Elementary, Pineville and Yellow Creek.

The quick recall competition was won by Rosspoint, followed by Evarts in second, Bell Central in third, Wallins in fourth and Page, Black Mountain, Harlan and Pineville all tied for fifth.

Bell Central won future problem solving, with Harlan finishing second, Evarts in third, Right Fork in fourth, Wallins in fifth, Rosspoint in sixth, and Yellow Creek in seventh.

Individual assessment area results were:

Mathematics: Maddox Huff, Harlan, first; Jackson Walters, Page, second; Parker Gibson, Bell Central, and Plez Dean, Evarts, tie for third; Abbigail Coleman and Alexis Vargas of Evarts, and Bailey Wilson of Frakes, tied for fifth.

Science: Chris Taylor, Rosspoint, first; Bryan Howard, Rosspoint, second; Wyman Fisher, Bell Central, and Landon McCreary, Rosspoint, tied for third; Jackson Walters, Page, fifth.

Social Studies: Landon McCreary, Rosspoint, first; Brayden Howard, Rosspoint, second; Lane Grubbs, Wallins, third; Will Holder, Bell Central, fourth; and Luke Parker, Evarts, fifth.

Language Arts: Meredith Allen, Bell Central, first; Michaelyn Dye, Bell Central, second; Lacey Sexton, Right Fork, third; Jimmy Shepherd, Wallins, fourth; Savannah Hill, Wallins, and Bailey Wilson, Frakes, tie for fifth.

Arts and Humanities: Chloe McCreary, Rosspoint, first; Mason Beach, Rosspoint, second; Audrey Goss, Harlan, third; Olivia Freeman, Evarts, fourth; Ruby Fisher, Bell Central, and Savannah Hill, Wallins, tie for fifth.

Composition: Michaelyn Dye, Bell Central, first; Jacey Collins, Cawood, second; Mallory McNiel, Harlan, third; Gabby Taylor, Wallins, fourth; and Kara Miracle, Cawood, fifth.

Special to the Daily News

comments powered by Disqus