Director race narrows to final 4

By Jan Runions - [email protected]

The hunt for the perfect replacement to fill the seat of Claiborne County Director of Schools has narrowed to the final four. The school board trimmed the hopefuls from eight to four names during a special-called work session late last week.

Those still in the running are Meredith Arnold, Linda Keck, Dr. Joe Miller and Jim Shipley. Arnold is the current principal of Lafollette Elementary, in Campbell County, Tennessee. Keck is currently the principal of Cumberland Gap High School. Miller is the director and principal of Career Technical Education in Morgan County, at Wartburg, Tennessee. Shipley is the current principal at Springdale Elementary in Tazewell.

Minimum requirements for the directorship are a master’s degree, a license as a professional educator and experience in administration.

Connie Holdway, who is scheduled to retire on June 30, announced her decision well over a year ago. School officials began bouncing around ideas late last year in an effort to cement the correct path to take in selecting a qualified replacement.

Notice of the position was officially announced in January. A school policy work session netted eight semi-finalists from a list of 18 applicants. Two interview sessions were then held in mid-February.

The new director of schools is expected to be announced on March 9, during the regular monthly meeting of the Claiborne school board. The meeting will be held at Cumberland Gap High School, beginning at 6 p.m.

Reach Jan Runions at 423-254-5588 or on Twitter @scribeCP.

By Jan Runions

[email protected]

comments powered by Disqus