Bobcats Green & Gilbert receive SEKC honors

Jay Compton Sports Editor

4 months 8 days 8 hours ago |12 Views | | | Email | Print

Bell County junior Justin Green has been named the 2013 Southeastern Kentucky Conference linebacker of the year and Hayden Gilbert is the special teams player of the year. The coaches All-SEKC teams for Class 3-5A were announced earlier this week.

Green finished the year with 111 total tackles to go along with two interceptions and a fumble recovery for a touchdown. He anchored a Bobcat defense that was one of the most improved units in the Mountains from the beginning of the season to the end.

Gilbert, a junior, served as Bell County’s place kicker and punter and also was a weapon in the return game. He hit two field goals and 15 extra points before missing a few games to injury late in the season. Gilbert also contributed as a safety on defense and caught three passes for 60 yards and a touchdown in 2013, helping the Bobcats put together a 7-5 record after a slow start.

Here’s the complete list of 2013 SEKC specialty awards for Classes 3-5A:

Player of the year: Carson Whitehead, Harlan County

Co-offensive linemen of the year: Zach Caldwell, Harlan County; and Dee Castle, Knox Central

Offensive back of the year: Sam Carr, Clay County

Co-all-purpose players of the year: Matthew Barger, Knox Central; and Jake Coppock, Corbin

Linebacker of the year: Justin Green, Bell County

Receiver of the year: Cole Wilson, Harlan County

Special teams player of the year: Hayden Gilbert, Bell County

Co-defensive linemen of the year: Derek Akal, Harlan County; and Jessie Liford, Corbin

Defensive back of the year: Zach Chitwood, Harlan County

Coach of the year: Tom Larkey, Harlan County

Here’s the rest of the 2013 All-SEKC Class 3-5A team:

BELL COUNTY — Shane Lawson, Justin Warwick, Jake Barton, Austin Caldwell, Ben Collett, Peyton Collett, Cody Griffin. Honorable mention: Chase Woolum, Devon Miller, Hunter Hurst, Jacob Sutton, Kyle Lee

HARLAN COUNTY — J.W. Cooper, William Banks, Gary Helton, Fred Massey, Nick Cornett, Bobby Huff, Isaac Mitchell, Justin Hensley, Scotty Bailey. Honorable mention: Mark Messer, Cole Kidwell, Josh Lee, J.T. Cabbell, Hunter Lewis

CORBIN — Taylor Waddle, Harley Lambert, Tanner Powers, Tai Jackson, Dalton Anderson. Honorable mention: Coby Cima, Zach Ingle, William Reedy, Corey Taylor, Dylan Adams

KNOX CENTRAL — Jonathan Gist, Hayden Canady, Jared Hall. Honorable mention: Derek Mills, Alex Sprinkles, Hunter McRight, Jacob Mills, Corey Owens

CLAY COUNTY — Arnold Arnett, Phillip Sester, Jacob Reid. Honorable mention: Ryan Holland, Matt Napier, Austin Jackson, Dakota Byrd, Ty Lyttle


comments powered by Disqus


Sponsored By:

Local Gas Prices

Lowest Gas Prices in Middlesboro
Middlesboro Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com

Featured Business

Community Directory